slider

Our professional and friendly
staff are always here to help

golden-charter-banner
store-front

More Sunderland families choose
John G Hogg than other Funeral Director

vehicle-slider

More than 99% of people who used John G Hogg
rated the professionalism of staff as Excellent

banner5

Winners of ‘Funeral Planner of the Year’ for
our dedication and commitment to the community

Testimonials

Client Comments

We cannot thank you enough. Your company was so professional and very efficient.I would have no hesitation in recommending John G Hogg Funeral Directors.

“You were there when we needed you. Very friendly and professional at all times.”

“Excellent guidance, support and compassionate service received which proved to be most uplifting despite the sadness of the day.”

“I am happy that my husband’s final journey was dealt with sensitively and professionally.”

“We chose John G Hogg as it is a family owned business so we knew we would get a personal service.”

“In my opinion I could not have received better care or attention from any other funeral director.”

“The service my family and myself received was excellent. I will most definitely recommend you to all I know.”

“Personal touch and friendly staff – nothing was too much trouble. Excellent in every way.”

“Your services where well managed with great sensitivity. Professional, empathetic, very well organised. This is obviously a family run business, which is what we wanted. All our family funerals in future will be managed by you.”

“You are the best in the business. At a really hard time it’s such a relief to be able to trust yourselves and hand everything over, making a sad time easier to handle.”

Just a small note to say a very big thank you for the excellent service we received from you all following the sad passing of my dad. Its such a stressful and difficult time when making funeral arrangements, but the way in which you met and engaged with my family was incredibly sensitive and compassionate. Sincere thanks to you, it was very much appreciated. Karen L.

Just wanted to say thank you for the support and kindness. Your warmth, generous and professional attitude made this difficult time more bearable. J.Porter

Thank you all for making such a difficult day much easier due to your professional and caring approach. P. Maltas

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Helpful and understanding staff.Great service, got what we wanted without any problems, nothing was a bother, put our sad day at ease.

Oct 20, 2017 by Margaret West

Helpful and understanding staff.
Great service, got what we wanted without any problems, nothing was a bother, put our sad day at ease.


We would like to thank you for your kind generosity and amazing support from you and the team.From the first phone call and to the first time we met

Oct 20, 2017 by Colin Purvis and family

We would like to thank you for your kind generosity and amazing support from you and the team.
From the first phone call and to the first time we met when Jasmine fell asleep, I knew then we made the right choice to use John g Hogg. Your team done everything and more to help and support us through this difficult time. We cannot thank you and your team enough. Colin and family.


Thank you for your care and support during this difficult time. My sincere gratitude for everything you did.It was perfect.You said ''We will be w

Oct 20, 2017 by Angela,Ray, Daniel & Faye Parkinson

Thank you for your care and support during this difficult time. My sincere gratitude for everything you did.
It was perfect.
You said ''We will be with you every step'' How true you were with those kind words.


Claire and colleaguesI would like to say a massive thank you for the help and kindness you showed to me and the family on the loss of Ron. Everythin

Oct 20, 2017 by Lesley, Karen and Pauline Capper

Claire and colleagues
I would like to say a massive thank you for the help and kindness you showed to me and the family on the loss of Ron. Everything was organised and done with the utmost care and professionalism.
Every detail was superb, the whole team made a very difficult and emotional time, much easier to manage. Once again, many thanks to everyone for the respect, dignity and care shown to our much loved dad Ron.


Stephen, thank you so much to you and your colleagues for the excellent service you provided to me and my family at a very difficult time. We all felt

Oct 20, 2017 by Phylis Beasley

Stephen, thank you so much to you and your colleagues for the excellent service you provided to me and my family at a very difficult time. We all felt supported, guided and shown the greatest care and compassion by yourself and all of the staff involved. Thank you so much


I really appreciate your careful attention and guidance with mam's funeral. Both on the actual day itself and also the help you provided in the organi

Oct 20, 2017 by Clare Berry

I really appreciate your careful attention and guidance with mam's funeral. Both on the actual day itself and also the help you provided in the organisation, you were very kind.


Thank you for your care and support during this difficult time. My sincere gratitude for everything you did. It was perfect.You said ''We will b

Oct 13, 2017 by Angela, Ray, Daniel, Faye Parkinson

Thank you for your care and support during this difficult time.
My sincere gratitude for everything you did.
It was perfect.
You said ''We will be with you at every step '' How true you were with those kind words.


Excellent from our first moment of contact with all staff at John Hogg , St Luke's Terrace . Their guidance , compassion , and professionalism assiste

Apr 21, 2017 by Jeanette Morgan

Excellent from our first moment of contact with all staff at John Hogg , St Luke's Terrace . Their guidance , compassion , and professionalism assisted us greatly at a very sad and difficult time. After having a not so good experience with another funeral director we were a little apprehensive , needless to say we were amazed at the quality of care we received from John and all staff they were second to none. A big thankyou to each of you and not forgetting Chris May who like yourselves did our family proud. (James Ross Smiths family 07/04/2017)


Just a note on behalf of all the family of the late Fred Chapman. To say a big thank you for all your help, support and kindness during our recent sad

Jan 16, 2017 by Chapman Family

Just a note on behalf of all the family of the late Fred Chapman. To say a big thank you for all your help, support and kindness during our recent sad bereavement. You really are a credit to your profession and the service that you and your colleagues provided can only be described as exemplary and the family felt hugely supported by you at this very difficult time. We received many comments about the lovely funeral we arranged for our father and you and your colleagues played a huge part in that.


I don't recall coming across a more professional and helpful company. Clare in particular was just amazing. During an upsetting and stressful time a b

Nov 16, 2016 by Jonathan Lynch

I don't recall coming across a more professional and helpful company. Clare in particular was just amazing. During an upsetting and stressful time a burden was lifted from our shoulders with the knowledge that she was handling our mum's funeral arrangements. Thank you so much.


John G Hogg , UK 5.0 5.0 101 101 Helpful and understanding staff.Great service, got what we wanted without any problems, nothing was a bother, put our sad day at ease.
Page:
123»

What Our Families Say Of Us

I would just like to thank you and your team for all you have done for Jimmy and our family. When dad passed away you came and took all the stresses away. It was a beautiful day, one we will never forget. 22 years ago the Hogg Family took care of Frank Canavanagh, then Molly. No change, still as compassionate as ever. We as a family would look no further than to use this beautiful family business for all our needs.
Late Mrs Breen
Logos

Our Pledge

“Many of us at John G Hogg have unfortunately been where you are right now. We have lost people who have been close family members and dear friends. It is inevitable that at some point in our lives we will all experience the hurt, pain and distress of losing someone we love and care for.

"We are here to help, support and guide you and your family through this sad and difficult time. We take away some of the burden that bereavement can leave behind, and allow you to grieve with your family, while we carry out the funeral arrangements for your loved one.”

John G Hogg

© John G Hogg Family Funeral Directors 2016 All Rights Reserved